Markus
Wirth

Senior Counsel
  • Portrait
  • Career

Markus Wirth is Senior Counsel in Homburger’s Litigation / Arbitration practice team. His practice focuses on international arbitration where he primarily acts as arbitrator and occasionally as advisor and legal expert.

Markus Wirth is Senior Counsel in Homburger’s Litigation / Arbitration practice team. He has more than 30 years’ practice in contract and corporate law (advising) and as counsel in commercial and civil law disputes before the Swiss Courts as well as in arbitration proceedings.

2016
Senior Counsel at Homburger
1981
Partner at Homburger
1979
Associate at Baker & McKenzie, Washington, DC, USA
1977
Attorney at Homburger, Achermann, Müller and Heini, Zurich
1976
University of Zurich (Dr. iur.)
1972
University of Toronto, Canada (LL.M.)
1971
Researcher / assistant lecturer, Swiss Institute for National, Regional and Local Planning, Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich
1969
Swiss Delegation to the Neutral Nations Supervisory Commission, Panmunjom, Korea
1969
University of Zurich (lic. iur.)

Join the Team

Career

Markus Wirth

Senior Counsel

Markus Wirth is Senior Counsel in Homburger’s Litigation / Arbitration practice team. He has more than 30 years’ practice in contract and corporate law (advising) and as counsel in commercial and civil law disputes before the Swiss Courts as well as in arbitration proceedings.

For many years the focus of his practice has been on international arbitration. Today he acts primarily as arbitrator, occasionally as advisor to parties or as legal expert. As counsel, he has represented Swiss and foreign companies as well as foreign governments and state organizations in numerous arbitrations seated in Switzerland and abroad under a variety of institutional rules and ad hoc proceedings. As arbitrator he has served in some 150 international arbitrations in Switzerland and abroad (Europe, North America and Asia), in the majority as chairman of the panel or as sole arbitrator. Chambers Global (editions 2013 – 2017) list Markus Wirth as one of the Most in Demand Arbitrators globally.

Markus Wirth’s arbitration experience extends to disputes relating to M&A transactions, joint ventures / shareholder agreements, licensing and distribution, EPC contracts (coal, biomass and nuclear power plants, chemical plants, underground gas storage facilities, pipelines, oil refineries, steel mills, manufacturing facilities of all kinds), long-term energy supply contracts (electricity, oil and gas), project financing, start-up ventures, air and railway transportation, telecommunication, competition / state aid matters and investor­-state disputes.

Mr. Wirth is an honorary president of the Swiss Arbitration Association (served as president 2005-2009), a former member of the ICC International Court of Arbitration (2009-2015), a fellow of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators, London (1996-) and a former lecturer on arbitration on the University of Zurich’s postgraduate programmes in international business law (1999-2014). He also served as a member of the Supervisory Board on Attorneys of the High Court of the Canton of Zurich (1995-2015).

Career

2016
Senior Counsel at Homburger
1981
Partner at Homburger
1979
Associate at Baker & McKenzie, Washington, DC, USA
1977
Attorney at Homburger, Achermann, Müller and Heini, Zurich
1976
University of Zurich (Dr. iur.)
1972
University of Toronto, Canada (LL.M.)
1971
Researcher / assistant lecturer, Swiss Institute for National, Regional and Local Planning, Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich
1969
Swiss Delegation to the Neutral Nations Supervisory Commission, Panmunjom, Korea
1969
University of Zurich (lic. iur.)

Languages

French, English, German

Bar Registration

Admitted to the Swiss bar

Teams

Markus
Wirth

Senior Counsel
  • Porträt
  • Karriere

Markus Wirth ist Senior Counsel im Praxisteam Prozesse und Verfahren von Homburger. Er ist hauptsächlich im internationalen Schiedsgerichtswesen tätig, vorwiegend als Schiedsrichter, gelegentlich als Berater und Rechtsexperte.

Markus Wirth ist Senior Counsel im Praxisteam Prozesse und Verfahren von Homburger. Er hat eine mehr als dreissigjährige Praxis im Vertrags- und Gesellschaftsrecht (beratend) und als Prozessanwalt vor schweizerischen Gerichten in handels- und zivilrechtlichen Verfahren sowie vor Schiedsgerichten.

2016
Senior Counsel bei Homburger
1981
Partner bei Homburger
1979
Associate, Baker & McKenzie, Washington, D.C., USA
1977
Rechtsanwalt, Homburger, Achermann, Müller und Heini, Zürich
1976
Universität Zürich (Dr. iur.)
1972
Universität Toronto, Kanada (LL.M.)
1971
Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter, Institut für Orts-, Regional- und Landesplanung, Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich
1969
Mitglied der schweizerischen Delegation bei der Neutralen Überwachungskommission, Panmunjom, Korea
1969
Universität Zürich (lic. iur.)

Join the Team

Karriere

Markus Wirth

Senior Counsel

Markus Wirth ist Senior Counsel im Praxisteam Prozesse und Verfahren von Homburger. Er hat eine mehr als dreissigjährige Praxis im Vertrags- und Gesellschaftsrecht (beratend) und als Prozessanwalt vor schweizerischen Gerichten in handels- und zivilrechtlichen Verfahren sowie vor Schiedsgerichten.

Seit vielen Jahren liegt der Schwerpunkt seiner Praxis in der internationalen Schiedsgerichtsbarkeit. Heute ist er vorwiegend als Schiedsrichter und gelegentlich noch als Berater von Parteien und als Rechtsexperte tätig. Als Parteivertreter hat Markus Wirth schweizerische und ausländische Unternehmen sowie ausländische Regierungen und staatliche Organisationen in zahlreichen Schiedsverfahren in der Schweiz und im Ausland unter einer Vielzahl von institutionellen Regelwerken und in Ad-hoc Verfahren vertreten. Als Schiedsrichter hat er bisher an rund 150 internationalen Schiedsverfahren in der Schweiz und im Ausland (Europa, Nordamerika und Asien) mitgewirkt, in der Mehrzahl als Vorsitzender des Schiedsgerichts oder Einzelschiedsrichter. In Chambers Global (Ausgaben 2013 – 2017) ist Markus Wirth als einer der weltweit gefragtesten Schiedsrichter aufgeführt.

Markus Wirths Schiedsrichtererfahrung umfasst Verfahren in den Bereichen Unternehmenszusammenschlüsse und -übernahmen, Joint Ventures|Aktionärsvereinbarungen, Lizenz- und Vertriebsverträge, EPC Verträge (Kohle-, Biomasse- und Kernkraftwerke, Chemieanlagen, unterirdische Gasspeicheranlagen, Pipelines, Erdölraffinerien, Stahlwerke, Produktionsanlagen aller Arten), langfristige Energielieferverträge (Elektrizität, Öl und Gas), Projektfinanzierung, Start-up Unternehmungen, Luft- und Schienenverkehr, Telekommunikation, Wettbewerbsrecht|Staatshilfe und Investor-Staat Verfahren.

Markus Wirth ist u.a. Ehrenpräsident (Präsident 2005–2009) der Schweizerischen Vereinigung für Schiedsgerichtsbarkeit (ASA), ehemaliges Mitglied des Internationalen Schiedsgerichtshofs der ICC (2009 – 2015), Fellow des Chartered Institute of Arbitrators, London (seit 1996) und ehemaliger Dozent für Schiedsgerichtsbarkeit im Nachdiplomstudium Internationales Wirtschaftsrecht an der rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität Zürich (1999 – 2014). Von 1995 – 2015 war er Mitglied der Aufsichtskommission über die Rechtsanwälte am Obergericht des Kantons Zürich.

Karriere

2016
Senior Counsel bei Homburger
1981
Partner bei Homburger
1979
Associate, Baker & McKenzie, Washington, D.C., USA
1977
Rechtsanwalt, Homburger, Achermann, Müller und Heini, Zürich
1976
Universität Zürich (Dr. iur.)
1972
Universität Toronto, Kanada (LL.M.)
1971
Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter, Institut für Orts-, Regional- und Landesplanung, Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich
1969
Mitglied der schweizerischen Delegation bei der Neutralen Überwachungskommission, Panmunjom, Korea
1969
Universität Zürich (lic. iur.)

Sprachen

Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch

Zulassung

Eingetragen im Anwaltsregister

Teams